It is currently Sat Oct 31, 2020 7:04 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 IT TAKES OVER 2 MINUTES TO LOAD A MAP! 
Author Message
eXo Honored Guest
eXo Honored Guest

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 10:52 pm
Posts: 197
Post IT TAKES OVER 2 MINUTES TO LOAD A MAP!
I really need your guys' help on this. I've recently rebuilt my PC (YET AGAIN), and I'm truly just about done with online gaming (especially with this Steam garbage).
Here's my PC specs on a fresh load:
1. Asus M2N motherboard
2. Ram - 4GB Corsair
3. CPU - AMD Dual Core 2.6 (overclocked to 3.0 Ghz).
4. Western Digital SATA 250GB / 3.0GB/s 7200 RPM HDD.
5. Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit.
6. Linksys Wireless G router (wireless is shut off and PC is hardwired directly to it with only 1 static IP Address). Even tried running CAT5 direct to modem, but no change.
7. Modem - Windstream DSL Speedstream 5200 - at 3MB/sec. Paying $56.00 a month, and for 12mb they want a whopping $99.00 a month!
8. Video - ATI Radeon HD 4550 - 1GB (Yeah, this thing is a great card!)
When I played COD WAW, I was always one of the first to join a map. Now, I have to wait forever and a day! I'm not joking when I say it now takes almost 2 minutes to load a map. I even will get the "Cannot Connect to Host" error at times. There is absolutely nothing wrong with my system specs that I can tell as compared to the requirements of the game. Does anyone know what the heck the deal is? I've tried it with the firewall turned off and on, and there is no difference. I'm running AVG Free Antivirus in the background, which I have also disabled and no change. I have given full permission over the firewall for Steam to run.
HELP!!!!!!!!!!!! BEFORE I THROW THIS PC OUT THE WINDOW!!!!!!!!!!!
:evil:


Tue Mar 08, 2011 9:44 pm
Profile
eXo Member LOA
eXo Member LOA
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 7:55 pm
Posts: 1128
Location: Santa Rosa,California
Post Re: IT TAKES OVER 2 MINUTES TO LOAD A MAP!
:D Ask Ibpilot :twisted:

_________________
eXo|gnosis(F)
... eXo|Skaets
... ... eXo|GenerationX


Image


Tue Mar 08, 2011 10:15 pm
Profile
eXo Member
eXo Member

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 12:35 am
Posts: 967
Location: Canada
Post Re: IT TAKES OVER 2 MINUTES TO LOAD A MAP!
Hi Talon. Check your video card drivers. Make sure they are the latest. It makes a big difference with load times.

http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/radeon_win7-64.aspx

_________________
Image


Tue Mar 08, 2011 10:18 pm
Profile WWW
eXo Honored Guest
eXo Honored Guest
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 5:45 am
Posts: 199
Location: South London
Post Re: IT TAKES OVER 2 MINUTES TO LOAD A MAP!
TALON,

you are being stiffed by your isp @ $56! I get 50mb for less.

As far as the loading is concerned, drop the resolution a notch and see if it makes a difference.

_________________
Clan Liaison Officer - [5º²nd] ŦΘΠĺŦŘŪŞ

Image


Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:12 am
Profile WWW
eXo Honored Guest
eXo Honored Guest

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 11:15 pm
Posts: 138
Post Re: IT TAKES OVER 2 MINUTES TO LOAD A MAP!
Try this Talon if you haven't and see if it helps. For your setup
r_multiGpu should be 0.
r_multithreaded_device should be 1

Quote:
•1) Your Call of Duty: Black Ops config file is here > Steam|steamapps|common|call of duty black ops|players
•(If you are on 64-bit windows, you will be looking for |Program Files (x86)|)
•2) Open config_mp.cfg in Notepad or Wordpad (I reccomend navigating to this file from notepad's "Open" dialogue, making sure to change the dropdown from "Open *.txt files" to "Open all files *.*")
•3) ctrl+F to open the "Find" dialogue
•4) Search for "r_multiGpu"
•5) If r_multiGpu is set to 1, change it to 0, unless you have multiple GPU's
•6) Search for r_multithreaded_device
•7) If r_multithreaded_device is set to 0, change it to 1, unless you have a single core processor


Also, do yourself a favor and get rid of AVG free. It has become a bloated resource hog. Get Avira free or Avast free. I use Avira and i am very happy with it.

_________________
Image


Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:08 pm
Profile
eXo Honored Guest
eXo Honored Guest

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 10:52 pm
Posts: 197
Post Re: IT TAKES OVER 2 MINUTES TO LOAD A MAP!
Thanks guys! I'm gonna try your suggestions and let you know what I find out. I may switch to cable soon, as I can get 7mb for 29.99 / month "promo". Then it goes to 39.99/mo., or I can get 15mb for 44.95/mo. Either way, I'm saving money.
Thanks,


Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:39 pm
Profile
eXo Honored Guest
eXo Honored Guest

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 10:52 pm
Posts: 197
Post Re: IT TAKES OVER 2 MINUTES TO LOAD A MAP!
I got it down to around 45 seconds to a map after updating the video driver. If this is the best it gets, than I'm done with this game and Steam.
Thanks for the help though.


Thu Mar 10, 2011 9:03 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.