It is currently Sat Oct 31, 2020 6:31 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Windows 7.... 
Author Message
eXo Member LOA
eXo Member LOA
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 8:00 pm
Posts: 2942
Location: Hickory, NC
Post Windows 7....
Well I guess it's time to finally bag XP (can't play BF3 with XP :? ) and get 7.

So....Home, Professional, or Ultimate?

_________________
eXo|STISS-Retired

Image


Sun Oct 30, 2011 7:42 am
Profile
eXo Member
eXo Member

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 6:10 pm
Posts: 2176
Location: Maysville, KY
Post Re: Windows 7....
I got Ulitmate.. Ain't sure what the difference is, I had to buy Office 2007.

_________________
eXo|GRISSOM(F)
... eXo|Kop
... ...eXo|Fresh
... ...eXo|REBEL223


Sun Oct 30, 2011 9:17 am
Profile
eXo Member LOA
eXo Member LOA
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:08 am
Posts: 1788
Location: Surf City NC
Post Re: Windows 7....
I got pro and works great also have home that came with my laptop also works fine.

_________________
Image


Sun Oct 30, 2011 11:16 am
Profile
eXo Member
eXo Member

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 12:35 am
Posts: 967
Location: Canada
Post Re: Windows 7....
The major difference is between pro and ultimate versus home premium. Pro and ultimate allow for bitlocker encryption as well as to run XP virtually. I've attached a link that shows a comparison.

http://www.microsoftstore.com/store/msstore/html/pbPage.Windows_Compare_Editions

If you don't need fancy encryption or office type networking protocols, the home premium works fine. Install the 64 bit version if your cpu can handle it.

_________________
Image


Sun Oct 30, 2011 3:46 pm
Profile WWW
eXo Member LOA
eXo Member LOA
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 8:00 pm
Posts: 2942
Location: Hickory, NC
Post Re: Windows 7....
Thanks guys, looks like I'll get Pro.

Do I need upgrade or full version? Can I do this at home on my own? Will I lose anything?

_________________
eXo|STISS-Retired

Image


Mon Oct 31, 2011 10:46 am
Profile
eXo Member
eXo Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 5:48 pm
Posts: 4653
Location: Pottsboro Tx, i can walk to Oakieville
Post Re: Windows 7....
Upgrade is good you wont even know your missing anything. Even your desktop stays the same. the only thing that changes is the OS. If it works.? and most of the time it does. It workded on 3 of my puters but not on my desktop. I had to do a clean install. but it still replaced the old operating system(Vista). NOw recently i changed HDD's To SSD's and tried to do a clean install but it would not let me register/activate windows 7 upgrade in the end, because it was an upgrade version of windows 7, not a full version. What i had to do was clean INstall windows 7 upgrade then do a restore of a full backup that i made 4 days prior to the new SSD's. then it recognized my OS as an upgrade and let me register/activate. the bottom line is if you buy the upgrade version do a back up every few months so if you do have a crash or an upgrade and have to do a clean install you will have a curent backup to restore so you dont have to buy a new site license for windows 7!! Or have to install XP first then the win 7 upgrade over it. Either that or buy the full version now and not have to worry about it. If i had not had the back up i would have had to buy windows 7 full version, or install XP or Vista first, then win 7 upgrade. Its really easy Stiss if it goes right, and it should, if it hangs up or fails for some reason, and you are not sure what to do, call me at 850-499-9107 and i will try to help you.

_________________
Image

eXo|Grissom(R)
... eXo|ColCarter
... ... eXo|IbPilot
... ... ... eXo|Salty25


Mon Oct 31, 2011 3:10 pm
Profile
eXo Member LOA
eXo Member LOA
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 8:00 pm
Posts: 2942
Location: Hickory, NC
Post Re: Windows 7....
Thank you Pilot. Probably go get it tonight.

_________________
eXo|STISS-Retired

Image


Mon Oct 31, 2011 3:45 pm
Profile
eXo Member
eXo Member

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 12:35 am
Posts: 967
Location: Canada
Post Re: Windows 7....
When going from XP to Win 7, you lose all data, as it's a fresh install. If you had Vista, then it would upgrade and you could keep your files.

So you need to back up your files you want to keep first!!!

_________________
Image


Mon Oct 31, 2011 3:56 pm
Profile WWW
eXo Member
eXo Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 5:48 pm
Posts: 4653
Location: Pottsboro Tx, i can walk to Oakieville
Post Re: Windows 7....
Ah now you mention it crush i think i do remember reading that somewhere? I upgaded from vista so it just replaced my operating system under all my programs. That sucks Stiss, you are gonna have to install all your programs again, then restore the data to catch them up to where you left off..

_________________
Image

eXo|Grissom(R)
... eXo|ColCarter
... ... eXo|IbPilot
... ... ... eXo|Salty25


Mon Oct 31, 2011 10:02 pm
Profile
eXo Member LOA
eXo Member LOA
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 8:00 pm
Posts: 2942
Location: Hickory, NC
Post Re: Windows 7....
Up and running!

_________________
eXo|STISS-Retired

Image


Tue Nov 01, 2011 9:13 am
Profile
eXo Member
eXo Member

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 12:35 am
Posts: 967
Location: Canada
Post Re: Windows 7....
Glad to hear that Stiss. There's a little learning curve from XP to Win 7 but I think you'll like the performance.

_________________
Image


Tue Nov 01, 2011 12:15 pm
Profile WWW
eXo Member
eXo Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 5:48 pm
Posts: 4653
Location: Pottsboro Tx, i can walk to Oakieville
Post Re: Windows 7....
Most excellent Stiss, you are a computer genius, only surpassed by the geekiest of us all Col Carter!!! :D

speaking of which You should look at device manager and make sure all your devices are working properly, none of them are highlighted. Win 7 does not always find my device drivers as good as it should!

_________________
Image

eXo|Grissom(R)
... eXo|ColCarter
... ... eXo|IbPilot
... ... ... eXo|Salty25


Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:59 pm
Profile
eXo Member
eXo Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:37 pm
Posts: 1942
Location: Ontario, Canada
Post Re: Windows 7....
A bit late but perhaps for someone else thinking of going to Win 7...

Try and purchase a new hard drive, such as SDD (minimum size 120 gb or you will run out of space fast).

Put the drive in, go into the BIOS and change the boot order to the new drive and install Win 7 nice and clean. No upgrade issues either.
Keep the existing XP drive in the system and intact.
Now, while it may seem odd to do this, the nice thing is that if you want to use XP at some point, or access any old apps that you do not want to install in Win 7, all you have to do is...
Restart, enter the Bios and change the boot order to your old drive and save and exit.
It is a little cumbersome, but it only takes about 30 seconds to do this plus boot time.
I do this on mine as I did not grab a large enough SSD drive. Heck after installing Win7 (16gb+), Steam and a couple of games, I ran out of space.

_________________
Image


Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:11 pm
Profile
eXo Member LOA
eXo Member LOA
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 10:21 pm
Posts: 1695
Location: Santiago, Chile
Post Re: Windows 7....
That's a great idea.

_________________
Image
"Virtus iunxit, mors non separabit"
(What virtue binds, death can't separate)


Wed Nov 09, 2011 6:10 am
Profile ICQ WWW
eXo Member LOA
eXo Member LOA
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 8:00 pm
Posts: 2942
Location: Hickory, NC
Post Re: Windows 7....
Now you tell me.... :roll:

:lol:

_________________
eXo|STISS-Retired

Image


Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:14 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.